image image image image image
Lonely Hearts Hotel by Heather O'Neill Set in Montreal and New York between the wars, a spellbinding story about two orphans whose unusual magnetism and talent allow them to imagine a sensational future, from the bestselling, two-time Scotiabank Giller Prize-shortlisted author.
The Age of Anger by Pankaj Mishra One of our most important public intellectuals reveals the hidden history of our current global crisis
Insane Clown President by Matt Taibbi In twenty-five pieces from Rolling Stone—plus two original essays—Matt Taibbi tells the story of Western civilization’s very own train wreck, from its tragicomic beginnings to its apocalyptic conclusion.
The Evenings by Gerard Reve THE FIRST ENGLISH TRANSLATION OF A POSTWAR MASTERPIECE 'I work in an office. I take cards out of a file. Once I have taken them out, I put them back in again. That is it.'
The Strays by Emily Bitto For readers of Atonement, a hauntingly powerful story about the fierce friendship between three sisters and their friend as they grow up on the outskirts of their parents' wild and bohemian artistic lives.

Featured Book

The Dovekeepers by Alice Hoffman

The_DovekeepersThe Dovekeepers, Alice Hoffman, Scribners, $18.00

The first novel I read by Alice Hoffman was Practical Magic. I was smitten immediately , even though the many covers the book has had over the years leave much to be desired -- I even threatened to wrap every one of them in brown paper!  Most of her books have been past Features, not all though because as much as I love her work and the lyricism of her writing, she can be a bit uneven at times.  But in taking on the full weight of a historical novel -- much less the tragedy of Masada two thousand years ago, she has launched herself to a whole new level of storytelling.  One she takes on with her impressive gift for character, language and insight. ,
Told from the perspective of four women, she brings to life the story of nearly one thousand Jews who fled from the advancing Romans to a mountain, Masada in the Judean desert.  They held out for months until the Romans finally broke down the walls only to find them all dead, choosing suicide to butchery and slavery.  As each narrator tells her story: Yael, (daughter of an assassin), Shirah; (herbalist and wise woman), Revka and her mute grandsons, and Aziza, (raised as a boy and determined to fight the Romans) -- we fall away into a time of fear and passion, resignation and magic told with such fervor and talent -- it takes your breath away.

Comparisons have been made to Anita Diamant's "Red Tent" but I would also compare it to Marion Zimmer Bradley's "Mists of Avalon".  But believe me when I say the history of her past novels only slightly prepares you for this book.  In tackling such a subject and taking on not just one fiercely independent and strong woman, but four unique aspects of the archetype, she has created a "women's" masterwork that will be loved by book clubs and course work alike.  In tying to explain the complexity of this novel, I am once again struck by how hard it is to do justice in a review.  So here goes: "Just read the damn thing, you'll be passing it around to friends for years to come".

Site Search

New in Paper

Unbroken Furiously
Hidden Figures Nightfall

News and Events

Wednesday, February 22nd - Dennis McConaghy

 Join us on Wednesday, February 22nd  as we welcome Dennis McConaghy and his new book Dysfunction

Dennis will be in the store from 7 to 9p.m. to discuss the book and sign copies.

Canada Reads

Perfect Books has a good supply of all five titles but they disappear quickly. Call or email to reserve your copies. Check out the shortlist here.


 


 

Contact Us

We're conveniently located in heart of Ottawa at 258A Elgin Street (at Somerset Street West). map.

PHONE: (613) 231-6468         FAX: (613) 231-4425         EMAIL: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

 

Socialize

facebook  twitter   google  rss