image image image image image
An Evening with Alan Bradley Perfect Books is proud to announce that Alan Bradley is coming to Ottawa. Join us on January 16th. Tickets are now on sale only at Perfect Books. Each ticket purchase provides a 20% discount on Alan's newest release. It arrives January 6th.
The Siege by Arturo Pérez-Reverte For fans of Alan Furst and Carlos Ruiz Zafón comes a haunting and layered thriller filled with history, adventure, suspense, and an unforgettable love story—by the internationally bestselling author Arturo Pérez-Reverte.
The Tyranny of Experts by William Easterly Over the last century, global poverty has largely been viewed as a technical problem that merely requires the right "expert" solutions. Yet all too often, experts recommend solutions that fix immediate problems without addressing the systemic political factors that created them in the first place.
SkyLight by Jose Saramago A previously unpublished novel by a literary master, Skylight tells the intertwined stories of the residents of a faded apartment building in 1940s Lisbon.
Abducting a General by Patrick Leigh Fermor One of the greatest feats in Patrick Leigh Fermor's remarkable life was the kidnapping of General Kreipe, the German commander in Crete, on 26 April 1944. He and Captain Billy Moss hatched a daring plan to abduct the general, while ensuring that no reprisals were taken against the Cretan population.

Featured Book

The Dovekeepers by Alice Hoffman

The_DovekeepersThe Dovekeepers, Alice Hoffman, Scribners, $18.00

The first novel I read by Alice Hoffman was Practical Magic. I was smitten immediately , even though the many covers the book has had over the years leave much to be desired -- I even threatened to wrap every one of them in brown paper!  Most of her books have been past Features, not all though because as much as I love her work and the lyricism of her writing, she can be a bit uneven at times.  But in taking on the full weight of a historical novel -- much less the tragedy of Masada two thousand years ago, she has launched herself to a whole new level of storytelling.  One she takes on with her impressive gift for character, language and insight. ,
Told from the perspective of four women, she brings to life the story of nearly one thousand Jews who fled from the advancing Romans to a mountain, Masada in the Judean desert.  They held out for months until the Romans finally broke down the walls only to find them all dead, choosing suicide to butchery and slavery.  As each narrator tells her story: Yael, (daughter of an assassin), Shirah; (herbalist and wise woman), Revka and her mute grandsons, and Aziza, (raised as a boy and determined to fight the Romans) -- we fall away into a time of fear and passion, resignation and magic told with such fervor and talent -- it takes your breath away.

Comparisons have been made to Anita Diamant's "Red Tent" but I would also compare it to Marion Zimmer Bradley's "Mists of Avalon".  But believe me when I say the history of her past novels only slightly prepares you for this book.  In tackling such a subject and taking on not just one fiercely independent and strong woman, but four unique aspects of the archetype, she has created a "women's" masterwork that will be loved by book clubs and course work alike.  In tying to explain the complexity of this novel, I am once again struck by how hard it is to do justice in a review.  So here goes: "Just read the damn thing, you'll be passing it around to friends for years to come".

Site Search

New in Paper

The Heart Toxin Toxout
What Makes Olga Run History in 12 Maps

News and Events




 Remaindered Books

New shipments of remaindered books arrive every week. Check the bin outside the store as you pass by for some surprising bargains.

 

 

Contact Us

We're conveniently located in heart of Ottawa at 258A Elgin Street (at Somerset Street West). map.

PHONE: (613) 231-6468         FAX: (613) 231-4425         EMAIL: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

 

Socialize

facebook  twitter   google  rss